Your Monday Briefing


Get your week started with the latest news from the world of women’s cycling.

  • Ella Harris, the winner of the 2018 Zwift Academy, has re-signed with Canyon//SRAM for the 2020 season. The young rider from New Zealand won the youth classification at Vuelta Burgos, was second in that classification at Eamkumeen Bira, and was fourth in the GC at the Colorado Classic this year.
  • Two time TTT World Champion Carmen Small will join the CERATIZIT-WNT Pro Cycling staff as assistant Sports Director for 2020. Small has been a professional rider for several years and only recently retired in 2017. Since then, she has been working as a Sports Director and has led her riders to wins at races including the Ronde van Vlaanderen, Ronde van Drenthe, Healthy Ageing Tour and Vargada in 2019.
  • Team Tibco recently announced its 2020 roster. In addition to returning riders Nicolle Bruderer (GTM), Leah Dixon (GBR), Nina Kessler (NED), Sharlotte Lucas (NZL), Shannon Malseed (AUS), Emily Newsom (USA), Kendall Ryan (USA) and Lauren Stephens (USA), the team welcomes five new riders in 2020. They are Jenelle Crooks from New Zealand, who previously rode for Mitchelton-SCOTT, Erica Clevenger of the USA, neo-pro Kristen Faulkner, also from the USA, Australian Sarah Gigante, and the Colombian Diana Peñuela.
  • Lotto Soudal Ladies has extended the contract of Dani Christmas for another year.
  • Arlenis Sierra will continue to ride for Astana Women’s Team, with fellow Cuban rider Yeima Torres.
  • Vicky Williamson, the elite British track cyclist specialising in the sprint discipline, has announced her retirement. However, she will continue in a completely different sport, swapping her bike for a bobsleigh.
  • Christine Majerus was elected for the sixth time as sportswoman of the year in Luxembourg.


At the UCI Track World Cup in New Zealand:

  • In the Sprint, Anastasiia Voinova (RUS) took the gold ahead of Canadian Kelsey Mitchell and Australian Stephanie Morton.
  • Holly Edmondston of New Zealand won the Scratch, while Uzbekistani rider Olga Zabelinskaya took silver, and bronze went to the Irish rider Lydia Gurley.
  • In the Madison, Georgia Baker and Alexandra Manly (AUS) won ahead of Daria Pikulik and Nikol Prosaj (POL) and Michaela Drummond and Jessie Hodges (NZL).
  • New Zealand won the gold in the Team Sprint ahead of Poland and Gazprom-Rusvelo.
  • In the Team Pursuit, New Zealand finished first, ahead of Australia and Canada.
  • The Keirin was won by Hyejin Lee (KOR) ahead of Lauriane Genest (CAN) and Stephanie Morton (AUS).
  • The Omnium went to Yumi Kajihara (JPN), with Jennifer Valente (USA) and Allison Beveridge (CAN) finishing in second and third place respectively.

Other racing results:

  • The Superprestige Zonhoven was won by Annemarie Worst (NED) ahead of Ceylin Del Carmen Alvarado (NED) and Yara Kastelijn (NED).
  • Australian national road champion Sarah Gigante took the first stage of the Tour of Tasmania. Stage two went to Jamie Gunning and the final stage was taken out by Taryn Heather. Gigante took the honours in the general classification.
  • At the Trofeo San Andres in Spain, Lucia Gonzalez Blanco (ESP) finished first ahead of Aida Nuno Palacio (ESP), and Olivia Onesti (FRA).
  • At the Toi Toi Cup in the Czech Republic, Katerina Nash (CZE) won ahead of Pavla Havlikova (CZE) and Nadja Heigl (AUT).
  • Marianne Vos (NED) won the IKO Cyclocross-Essen in Belgium, with Kata Blanka Vas (HUN) and Anna Kay (GBR) finishing behind in second and third.
  • The Japanese National Cyclo-cross Championships were won by Rina Matsumoto, followed by Aya Akamatsu and Miyuki Nishiyama.
  • At the NBX GO of Cross I, Rebecca Fahringer (USA) finished first, ahead of Lizzy Gunsalus (USA) and Ruby West (CAN).
  • The Resolution ‘Cross Cup saw Maghalie Rochette (CAN) take the win, followed by Caroline Mani (FRA) and Courtenay McFadden (USA).
  • At Ziklo kross Igorre, the podium consisted of Lucia Gonzalez Blanco (ESP), Aida Nuno Palacio (ESP), and Olivia Onesti (FRA).
  • The Lampiris Zilvermeercross Mol was won by Laura Verdonschot (BEL), ahead of Shirin van Anrooij (NED) and Inge van der Heijden (NED).

Zwift Blog

  • In her latest exclusive piece for us, Tanja Erath tells us how she spends her off-season, which includes a well-deserved but rare holiday before getting started with training ahead of her first races.

Rawvelo Voxwomen Insider Podcast

  • In the final episode for 2019 Laura Winter talks to Emily Chappell, Seb Piquet, Joscelin Ryan, Rachel Jary and Isabella Stone at the Rouleur Classic, and you can check it out here.
  • Laura Winter takes you behind the scenes at the Rouleur Classic as she speaks to Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig, Anna Henderson and Christine Majerus and introduces the Voxwomen Sharon Laws Road Rider of the Year Award.

#ICYMI from Voxwomen

  • Missing your weekly dose of race coverage? We’ve got all the episodes of the Voxwomen TV show available to watch and download. Revisit races and interviews from the past few seasons right here on our channel.
  • In a review of the highlights of the 2019 season, we look at the new teams, outstanding riders, memorable victories and year-end rankings of a season to be remembered. Re-live and reflect on a year of fantastic women’s cycling right here.
  • If you are looking to get faster and stronger on your climbs, take a look at the five training tips for climbing in our new segment Vox Training Zone.
  • Did you catch the previous issue of our “Sunday Supplement”? If not you’ll want to find out more about the stellar 2019 season of Lorena Wiebes in last week’s edition.

Voxwomen Announcements and Events

  • On 1st December, we kicked off our 12 days of Voxmas. Check out @Voxwomen on Twitter for your chance to win some fabulous prizes!
  • Next February, we’ll be running the Zwift x Voxwomen VoxTour, and we are delighted to be partnering with I R I S – I Ride In Style to create another special jersey design. We’re giving you the chance to help put the finishing touches on this fantastic jersey. Tell us here in your own 10 words or less an inspirational statement that can go on the pocket, which will encourage those who will wear it. The best one will be selected to appear on the pocket, and the winner will receive a jersey.

This week in cycling history…

  • On 2 December 1894, Frankie Nelson set the 1-hour record in the Velodrome d’Hiver in Brussels. During her career, she raced in almost all the principal cities of America and Europe. The American rider was one of the first female bike racers, initially using a high-wheeler and then a safety bike that was similar to the modern bikes of today. Organised women’s sports was still in its infancy around the late 19th century but Nelson, with her tenacity and determination, was a trailblazer for other female athletes who followed after her.
  • Louise Armaindo was one of Canada’s first professional bike racers and was known throughout the last decades of the 19th century as “the champion female bicycle rider of the world.” Initially performing as a strongwomen and competitive endurance walker, she later turned to high-wheel cycling. The Canadian also participated in many indoor cycling events in which cyclists would ride several hours per day against each other. On 5 December 1886, she set one of her many records at one of these multi-day indoor cycling races logging 843 miles, the most miles of any competitor at the event.

Voxwomen Online Shop

  • Looking for a gift for the coming holidays? Why not check out our full range of quality cycling clothing and accessories in our online store! Every purchase from our shop will support Voxwomen and make it possible for us to keep continuing to provide you with the latest from the world of women’s cycling. So head over to our online shop!

More news

Share this post