Your Monday Briefing

Your news

Get your week started with the latest news in women’s cycling

The organisers of the E3 Saxo Classic have announced they are cancelling this year’s edition of ‘Leiedal Koerse’ as they say it would create a large amount of debt. The race was due to be upgraded to 1.1 this year.

The three 2023 Zwift Academy women’s finalist have been revealed. The finalists from Great Britain, Slovenia and South Africa will now head to Denia in Spain, where the riders will be pitted head-to-head in a series of tasks, challenges and races to fight for the spot in the Cayon//SRAM Generation team.

The elite Belgian women’s team for the Cyclocross World Championships in Tabor from 2 to 4 February consists of Sanne Cant, Alicia Franck, Marion Norbert Riberolle and Laura Verdonschot. France will be represented by Helene Clauzel and Amandine Fouquenet.

The 2029 Road European Championships will be held in Italy, in the Abruzzo Region, and will be hosted by the Province of L’Aquila.

The names of the teams that will be participating at the 2024 Paris-Roubaix Femmes avec Zwift have been released: 15 UCI WorldTeams, as well as Cofidis and Lifeplus-Wahoo, Winspace, Arkea-B&B, Coop-Repsol, EF-Cannondale, St Michel-Mavic-Auber93, Komugi Grand Est and Volkerwessels have been invited by the organisers.

La Flèche Wallonne has published the list of participating teams for 2024. 15 WWT teams, Cofidis plus eight other teams will be at the start of the race on 17 April.

Dame Sarah Storey will be joining the Manchester Met Institute of Sport as a Visiting Professor to share her sporting expertise with the institution’s sport scientists. The 43-time World Champion and holder of 28 Paralympic medals across swimming and cycling will join the Institute in its mission to push boundaries of sport and health.

Astana Qazaqstan Cycling Team establishes the new continental Astana Dewi Women Team to nurture and support female talent in the region.

Ashleigh Moolman Pasio of AG Insurance Soudal has been instrumental in setting up an eSports and Education Centre in Khayelitsha, South Africa. The centre aims to assist young women riders to train and hopefully change their lives for the better.

Thor Hushovd has been announced as the new general manager of Uno-X Mobility. The 46-year-old former rider, who has a 15-year professional career, will also be overseeing the WWT team of the Norwegian squad.

Lottte Kopecky will focus on the Classics and preparations for the Olympics. A start at the Tour de France avec Zwift will be decided once the Classic season has finished. She has also hinted that, as her contract with SD Worx-ProTime expires at the end of the year, she is in negotiations with the Dutch squad but has other teams interested in signing her. At this stage she is open to explore all different options.

AG Insurance, one of the title sponsors of the AG Insurance Soudal team, will sponsor Flèche Wallonne and Liège Bastone Liège for four more years. They have worked with ASO, the race organisers, to modify the starting times of the women’s race to later in the day in the hope to have a better chance of more race broadcasting.



Challenge Mallorca – Trofeo Binissalem-Andratx: Eeleonora Gasparrini (UAE Team ADQ) ahead of Noemi Rüegg (EF Education-Cannodale) and Nadia Quagliotto (Laboral Kutxa-Fundacion Euskadi)

Geelong Classic: Sofia Bertizzolo (UAE Team ADQ) ahead of Georgia Baker (Liv AlUla Jayco) and Francesca Barale (Team dsm-firmenich PostNL)

Deakin University Elite Women’s Road Race: Rosita Reijnhout (Team Visma-Lease a Bike) ahead of Dominika Wlodarczyk (UAE Team ADQ) and Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (FDJ-SUEZ)


Zwift Blog

The always entertaining Abi Smith gives her top 10 tips for cold weather training in this blog from our best-of-archives. Check out her pro training tips here!


This week in cycling history

First women’s Cyclocross World Championships

The first women’s UCI Cyclocross World Championships were held in Sint-Michielsgestel, the Netherlands, on 28 January 2000. The parcours for the race was 2660m long with 700m road, 1080m grass and 880m forest trail. Hanka Kupfernagel of Germany won the inaugural elite race ahead of Louise Robinson (GBR) and Daphny van den Brand (NED).

From our Online Store

Men’s hoodie

This certified organic cotton pullover hoodie features the Voxwomen Club logo! Show your support for women’s cycling and support Voxwomen at the same time, with this stylish hoodie. Get yours here!



Women’s hoodie

This organic hoodie features the Voxwomen Club logo with the words “Join, ride, share and be inspired.” Show your support for women’s cycling and support Voxwomen, with this stylish cotton hoodie. Buy yours here!

More news

Share this post