Your Monday Briefing


Get your week started with the latest news from the world of women’s cycling.

Transfer and re-signing news:

  • Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig will be riding for FDJ-Nouvelle Aquitaine-Futuroscope next year and will be taking on a leadership role within the French team.
  • Clara Koppenburg has re-joined Bigla. The German previously rode for the team for several seasons and will take on a new leadership role next year.
  • Jesse Vandenbulcke, the Belgian road race champion, has signed with Lotto Soudal Ladies next year. After racing for Doltcini-Van Eyck Sport this year, she returns to her old team where she spent four years before leaving due to a medical condition.
  • Arianna Fidanza will also join Lotto Soudal Ladies next season. The Italian rider, who enjoys races such as the spring classics, has won two UCI races as an elite rider so far and hopes to net some good results in the classics next year.
  • Gracie Elvin renewed her contract with Mitchelton-SCOTT. Next year will be the Australian rider’s eighth consecutive season with the squad. She is a former two-time national champion and has been an experienced support rider for the team.
  • Jessica Allen will also remain with Mitchelton-SCOTT in 2020. The Australian rider has been with the squad for the past three and a half years and will continue in her role as a strong support rider.
  • Lizzie Holden will join Bizkaia-Durango for the 2020 season. Holden has competed for Drops during the last three seasons and, among other achievements, has won a bronze medal at the 2019 British Elite National Championships and taken sixth place at the Giro della Toscana.

In other news…

  • The Amaury Sport Organisation has announced last Tuesday that the 7th edition of La Course by Le Tour de France will return as a one-day circuit race around the Champs-Élysées in Paris next year. The event’s date is currently marked for 10 July but a change to 19 July to coincide with the final stage of the men’s Tour de France has not been excluded.
  • After 8 editions, the Women’s Tour Down Under has been elevated to the newly created UCI ProSeries. The Australian race will run from 16-19 January 2020 and is one of only five ProSeries events and the only one to be held outside of Europe


  • Leah Thomas (Bigla) won the Chrono des Nations in France, ahead of Vita Heine (Hitec Products) and Emma Norsgaard Jørgensen (Bigla).

UEC Track Cycling Championships in Apeldoorn:

  • Scratch race: British rider Emily Nelson won ahead of Shannon McCurley (Ireland) and Maria Martins (Portugal).
  • Team sprint: Russia finished first, ahead of Germany and The Netherlands.
  • Team pursuit: Britain (Archibald, Dickinson, Evans, Kenny) took the victory ahead of Germany (Brausse, Brennauer, Klein, Stock) and Italy (Balsamo, Alzini, Guazzini, Paternoster).
  • Elimination: Kirsten Wild (NED) won ahead of Emily Nelson (GBR) and Nikol Plosaj (POL).
  • Sprint: Anastasiia Voinova (RUS) beat out Olena Starikova (Ukraine) and Lea Sophie Friedrich (GER).
  • Individual pursuit: Franziska Brausse (GER) took the honours ahead of her compatriot Lisa Brennauer and Great Britain’s Katie Archibald.
  • Omnium: Kirsten Wild (NED) was victorious, while Laura Kenny (GBR) and Tatsiana Sharakova (Belarus) took silver and bronze respectively.
  • Keirin: Mathilde Gros (FRA) took gold ahead of Lea Sophie Friedrich and Daria Shmeleva (RUS).
  • Points Race: Maria Confalonieri (ITA) won over Tatsiana Sharakova (BEL) and Ganna Solovei (UKR).
  • 500m Time Trial: Anastasiia Voinova (RUS) took the win ahead of Daria Shmeleva (RUS) and Olena Starikova (UKR).
  • Madison: Amalie Dideriksen and Julie Leth (DEN) prevailed over Katie Archibald and Laura Kenny (GBR) and May Pieters and Kirsten Wild (NED).

Zwift Blog

  • Ella Harris writes about her unforgettable experience at the World Championships and what she took away from this special event in her latest blog, “Descending with Vos and The World Champs.”
  • Sophie Wright shares her very turbulent travel experience which took her from England to Italy to get arrive at her final race of the season, in her latest blog “Travel.

Rawvelo Voxwomen Insider Podcast

  • Dedication, commitment and hard work brought cycling success to this U.S. rider. Listen to Junior Road World Champion Megan Jastrab’s interview with Voxwomen after her win at Yorkshire 2019

The Sharon Laws Road Rider of the Year

  • Thanks to all of you who have voted for the Voxwomen’s Sharon Laws Rider of the Year award 2019! The poll has now closed and the winner will be announced at the Rouleur Classic, held in London on 31 October.

This week in cycling history…

  • Coventry resident Eileen Sheridan celebrated her 95th birthday on 18 October. The English rider specialised in time trialling and record breaking, and was one of the most celebrated female cyclists in the 1940s and 1950s. She broke all 21 long distance and place-to-place records on the books of the Women’s Road Records Association. In 1954, she rode from Lands End to John O’Groats in terrible weather conditions, in only two days and eleven hours, thereby smashing the previous record. Some of her records stood for significant periods of time. It took 48 years, for example, for Lynne Taylor to break Sheridan’s 1,000-mile record of three days and 1 hour in 2002. Dubbed “the Mighty Atom,” she had a physical and mental capacity for superlative performance and was at the forefront of women’s cycling for more than a decade.

Voxwomen Online Shop

  • Head over to our online shop where you can find mugs, socks, jerseys and much more. By making a purchase, you’ll also be supporting Voxwomen and make it possible for us to continue providing you with all the latest from the world of women’s cycling.

More news

Share this post