Trofeo Alfredo Binda Grand Gala 2023

On Saturday 2nd December, the city of Varese in Italy will host the Trofeo Binda Grand Gala, 50 years of women’s cycling in Cittiglio. 2024 will mark exactly fifty years since the first edition of the competition that came about thanks to the passion of the community that gave birth to Alfredo Binda, the great champion of the 1920s and 1930s.

In 1974, the Trofeo Binda was won by Giuseppina Micheloni from Lecco, who was succeeded by important names in Italian cycling from Morena Tartagni to Lucia Pizzolotto, Maria Canins, Elisabetta Fanton, Valeria Cappellotto and Fabiana Luperini. In 1985, the race received an important acknowledgement with the award of a tricolour title.

The race was not organised in 1997 and 1998. The Italian Cycling Federation proposed it again in 1999 as a national race under the organisation of the Caravatese Inda Cycling Society. In 2007, the Trofeo Binda was promoted to an international race under the aegis of the International Cycling Union and in 2008 the organisation passed to Mario Minervino’s Cycling Sport Promotion.

The competition was immediately included in the World Cup calendar, becoming one of the most sought-after international competitions. Since 2016, with the changes made by the International Cycling Union, the Trofeo Alfredo Binda has demonstrated the ever-increasing prestige of the Women’s WorldTour calendar.

The celebration party will be held on Saturday 2nd December at Villa Recalcati, in Piazza Libertà in Varese. Many of the winners will be present, ladies from the historical editions to those of more recent years, including Elisa Longo Borghini and Elisa Balsamo, winners in Cittiglio in 2021 and 2022 respectively.

Albo d’oro “trofeo Alfredo Binda – Comune di Cittiglio”
2023    Shirin Van Anrooij (OLA)
2022    Elisa Balsamo (ITA)
2021    Elisa Longo Borghini (ITA)
2020    n.d.
2019    Marianne Vos (OLA)
2018    Katarzyna Niewiadoma (POL)
2017    Coryn Rivera (USA)
2016    Elizabeth Armitstead (GBR)
2015    Elizabeth Armitstead (GBR)
2014    Emma Johansson (SVE)
2013    Elisa Longo Borghini (ITA)
2012    Marianne Vos (OLA)
2011    Emma Pooley (GBR)
2010    Marianne Vos (OLA)
2009    Marianne Vos (OLA)
2008    Emma Pooley (GBR)
2007    Nicole Cooke (GBR)
2006    Regina Schleicher (GER)
2005    Nicole Cooke (GBR)
2004    Oenone Wood (AUS)
2003    Diana Ziliute (LIT)
2002    Svetlana Bubnenkova (RUS)
2001    Nicole Brandli (SVI)
2000    Fabiana Luperini (ITA)
1999 – Fanny Lecortois
1998 – n.d.
1997 – n.d.
1996 – Valeria Cappellotto
1995 – Valeria Cappellotto
1994 – Fabiana Luperini
1993 – Roberta Ferrero
1992 – Maria Canins
1991 – Maria Paola Turcutto
1990 – Maria Canins
1989 – Elisabetta Fanton
1988 – Elisabetta Fanton
1987 – Rossella Galbiati
1986 – Stefania Carmine
1985 – Silvia Conti
1984 – Maria Canins
1983 – Michela Tomasi
1982 – Lucia Pizzolotto
1981 – Cristina Menuzzo
1980 – Francesca Galli
1979 – Anna Morlacchi
1978 – Cristina Menuzzo
1977 – Nicoletta Castelli
1976 – Morena Tartagni
1975 – Nicole Van Den Broek
1974 – Giuseppina Micheloni

More news

Share this post