Tour de Romandie 2023 – Race Report

How the race finished

Demi Vollering (SD Worx) claimed the overall honours in the Tour de Romandie after winning the queen stage, ahead of Kasia Niewiadoma (Canyon//Sram Racing) and Marlen Reusser (SD Worx).

Full results are available below.

How it happened

Despite the likelihood of a sprint finish, the racing got underway early on Stage One. Clara Honsinger (EF Education Tibco SVB) went out solo in the first ten kilometres, extending her lead out to over 3 minutes and staying clear until the final 40 kilometres of the race. After the final climb, Marlen Reusser (SD Worx) made a move, and was joined by swiss compatriot Elise Chabbey (Canyon//Sram Racing), but the pair weren’t allowed to stay clear. Despite multiple attacks, the peloton stayed largely intact. With around 10km remaining to race Carina Schrempf (Fenix-Deceuninck) got away solo, and suddenly the race situation changed completely, as it was touch and go whether she would be caught. As it ended up, Schrempf raised her arms in disbelief as she crossed the line in second place, swarmed by the peloton. Sofia Bertizzolo (UAE Team ADQ) had pipped her on the line to take her maiden WWT win.

With two significant climbs including a mountain-top stage finish, Stage Two offered the most significant opportunity for the GC riders. With the opening parts of the stage cagey but uneventful, it wasn’t until around 10km before the final climb that team tactics began to play out. The trio of Amber Kraak (Jumbo-Visma), Anna Shackley (SD Worx) and Silvia Persico (UAE Team ADQ) took off up the road, trying to get ahead of the main contenders and perhaps offer support to teammates on the final climb. As the climb itself kicked up, Canyon//Sram Racing put Ricarda Bauernfiend on the front, setting a high pace that quickly reeled in the escapees and reduced the bunch significantly. With 4km remaining, Demi Vollering (SD Worx) saw her opportunity to attack, and was followed by teammate Marlen Reusser, Kasia Niewiadoma (Canyon//Sram Racing) and Juliette Labous (team dsm-firmenich). When Vollering increased the pace slightly more, only Niewiadoma could follow. Niewiadoma was then stuck riding on the front, as Vollering took the wheel. In the closing kilometer Reusser was coming back to the duo, but didn’t get there before Vollering unleashed her sprint, leaving Niewiadoma for dust and taking the overall race lead.

With only narrow time gaps separating the top of the General Classification, the rolling parcours of B Three set the scene for an attacking finale. In the early part of the race, attacks came from a number of riders, notably seeing Mireia Benito find herself solo up the road. Bertizzolo also broke away to claim the sprint points, but no one was allowed to stay clear. On the climb of Le Moland, team dsm-firmenich set the pace, significantly reducing the leading bunch. Lippert attacked near the top, further reducing the bunch. Attacks and counterattacks came thick and fast and riders marked their competitors and raced for the win. Esmee Peperkamp (team dsm-firmenich) and Anna Shackley (SD Worx) found space for a while, but the efforts of Rosita Reijnhout closed them down at just over 12km to go. At 10km to go, Bauernfiend took off, but SD Worx chased her down. Inside the last two kilometres Team dsm-firmenich send first Nienke Vinke and the Esmee Peperkamp off the front, but both were brought back. When it all eventually came down to a reduced bunch sprint, Fem van Empel (Jumbo Visma) launched early, but a fast finishing Liane Lippert (Movistar) was able to come past her to secure the win. Silvia Persico (UAE Team ADQ) was third across the line.


Full Results

Results powered by


More news

Share this post