GB Squad Confirmed For Tour of Britain

Much to the delight of fans, British Cycling has confirmed that the Great Britain Cycling Team will field a squad for the 2024 Lloyds Bank Tour of Britain Women. The Tour, which promises to be a thrilling, talent-packed event, starts in Welshpool, Wales on Thursday 6th June.

The six-strong GB squad features former road world champion and winner of the Women’s Tour in 2016 and 2019, Lizzie Deignan MBE (Lidl-Trek) and Olympic gold medallist and seven-time track world champion, Elinor Barker MBE (Uno-X Mobility).

As well as Barker, Wales will also be represented by Elynor Bäckstedt (Lidl-Trek), both of whom are expected to receive a warm welcome when they take to the start line for the opening two Welsh stages of the race.

Joining them in the team is Anna Henderson (Team Visma | Lease a Bike), who in 2023 secured fourth place at the World Championship ITT and second place in the same event at the UEC Road European Championships.

Completing the line-up are Millie Couzens (Fenix-Deceuninck) and Flora Perkins (Fenix-Deceuninck Development Team).

With the Paris 2024 Olympic Games on the horizon, spectators will have the opportunity to see the Gold medal hopefuls in action on local roads.

British Cycling Performance Director, Stephen Park CBE, said of the announcement, “We are delighted to be able to confirm such a strong Great Britain Cycling Team for the inaugural Lloyds Bank Tour of Britain Women.

“We know that the team will relish the rare opportunity to race at home, and for the Paris hopefuls among the squad, the event will play a crucial role in the final preparations for the Games. We know that they’ll add real strength and stardust to the race and expect fans will be out in force to show their support.”

Elinor Barker added, “It’s always incredibly special to race on home soil where the energy and support from the crowds is unparalleled. For me personally, I am particularly excited that two of the stages will be hosted in Wales on some iconic roads, which will undoubtedly make for a challenging and competitive race.

“The Lloyds Bank Tour of Britain Women comes at an important time in our preparations for a huge summer of cycling. I think I speak for the whole squad when I say we’re extremely motivated to put on a brilliant show in June – we can’t wait!”

The Great Britain Cycling Team will join the four UCI Women’s WorldTour teams and nine UCI Women’s Continental Teams already confirmed for the LLoyds Bank Tour of Britain Women, making for a star-studded start list.

The four-day stage race will commence on Thursday 6th June and culminate in Leigh, Greater Manchester on Sunday 9th June. You can find more details on the first and second stage here, the third stage here and the final stage here.


Great Britain Cycling Team for 2024 Lloyds Bank Tour of Britain Women:

Elynor Bäckstedt

Elinor Barker

Millie Couzens

Lizzie Deignan

Anna Henderson

Flora Perkins


2024 Lloyds Bank Tour of Britain Women full team line-up:

Great Britain Cycling Team

SD-Worx – Protime (WTW)

Team dsm firmenich PostNL (WTW)

Liv AlUla Jayco (WTW)

Human Powered Health (WTW)

Cofidis (CTW)

AG Insurance – Soudal (CTW)

VolkerWessels (CTW)

St. Michel – Mavic – Auber93 WE (CTW)

Torelli (CTW)

Alba Development Road Team (CTW)

DAS-Hutchinson-Brother UK (CTW)

Doltcini-O’Shea (CTW)

Hess Cycling Team (CTW)

Lifeplus-Wahoo (CTW)

Pro-Noctis – 200° Coffee – Hargreaves Contracting (CTW)


2024 Lloyds Bank Tour of Britain Women race route:

Stage 1 – Thursday 6th June 2024: Welshpool to Llandudno

Stage 2 – Friday 7th June 2024: Wrexham

Stage 3 – Saturday 8th June 2024: Warrington

Stage 4 – Sunday 9th June 2024: Greater Manchester: National Cycling Centre to Leigh

More news

Share this post