2024 Trofeo Binda – Race Report

How the race finished

Elisa Balsamo (Lidl Trek) triumphed again at Trofeo Binda, making it four in a row for Lidl Trek. Lotte Kopecky (SD Worx Protime) had to settle for second, with Puck Pieterse (Fenix Deceuninck) securing the third podium position.

Full results are available below.

How it happened

With a slightly altered route compared to previous years, the peloton lined up for 140.6km of rolling terrain, including an extra local lap over the Orino and Casalzuigno climbs. From the start line in Maccagno con Pino  e Veddasca, the race rolled out along the tranquil waters of the Lago Maggiore.

A few early attacks were closed down before the peloton hit the first climb of the day, the Masciago Primo, where EF Education-Cannondale set the pace. After a short descent, they hit the first of the local laps, where big name teams of Canyon//Sram Racing, dsm-firmenich Post NL and Lidl Trek made their presence felt on the front. Despite this, Clara Emond (EF Education-Cannondale) was able to sneak off the front, establishing a solid but slight solo lead. With the peloton not giving her much of a leash, it took over ten kilometres before Emond found herself at a minute clear. Through the early laps the gap hovered at about that mark, before the peloton increased the pace. By 62km to go Emond had been reabsorbed, and it was all back together again.

With three ascents of the Orino climb left to race, the suspense rose as we entered the final phase. This lap, Lotte Kopecky (SD Worx Protime) put in a small dig, before Clara Koppenburg (EF Education-Cannondale) attacked and was joined by Mireia Benito (AG Insurance Soudal) and Debora Silvestri (Laboral Kutxa-Fundacion Euskadi). Henrietta Christie (Human Powered Health) bridged across, but the group was closed down by dsm-firmenich Post NL. Benito tried again, this time with Nikola Noskova (Cofidis) on her wheel, but the move was managed by Ricarda Bauernfiend (Canyon//Sram Racing). The attacks had begun to whittle down the peloton. 

Jade Wiel (FDJ Suez) went over the summit, who was caught again only for Yara Kastelijn (Fenix Deceuninck) to launch. She was brought back by Femke Gerritse, who was on policing duties for SD Worx Protime. Onto the steep Casale climb it was Puck Pieterse (Fenix Deceuninck) who attacked, and this time, she found herself clear. Niamh Fisher-Black (SD Worx Protime) bridged across, and took up pacing, but the dangerous duo were reeled back in. Marlen Reusser attacked over the top, only to be caught by the peloton led by Karlijn Swinkels (UAE Team ADQ). 

Despite the endless attacks, the peloton remained largely intact going into the final lap. Teams lined up to ensure their leaders had a good position into the final ascents. Fisher Black attacked again, this time sparking a small split with Mareille Meijering (Movistar), Shirin van Anrooij (Lidl Trek), Kastelijn (Fenix Deceuninck), Marlen Reusser (SD Worx Protime) and Elise Chabbey (Canyon//Sram Racing) up front. Things came back together, but after the descent, the peloton was in two distinct groups. Attacks from the first group and then subsequent slowing meant that by 10km to go, things had come back together again.

On the final ascent of the Orino climb Neve Bradbury (Canyon//Sram Racing) and Mareille Meijering (Movistar) launched, getting a decent gap. Fisher Black again bridged across and went straight over the top, with van Anrooij trying to close it down. Chabbey, Evita Muzic (FDJ Suez), Pieterse and Sarah Gigante (AG Insurance Soudal) also came across, but with the peloton not far behind, it came back together on the descent. 

Meijering attacked again, taking the opportunity to find a few seconds. The peloton had her in their sights, but the Movistar rider continued to push the pedals, holding the chasers off. Van Anrooij took it up on the front for Lidl Trek, with Reusser in her wheel. Meijering was caught under the flamme rouge, leaving Reusser to lead out for the sprint. Kopecky went early, but Elisa Balsamo (Lidl Trek) had her positioning and timing perfect, coming around to take the win with ease. Puck Pieterse rounded out the podium, still having the legs for the sprint even after a very active race.

Full Results

Results powered by FirstCycling.com


More news

Share this post