2024 Ronde van Drenthe – Race Report

How the race finished

Lorena Wiebes (Team SD Worx) claimed a legendary fourth win at the 2024 Ronde van Drenthe, with Elisa Balsamo (Lidl-Trek) and Puck Pieterse (Fenix-Deceuninck) rounding out the podium.

Full results are available below.

How it happened

With a modified route reflecting local regulations and policing costs, this year’s Ronde van Drenthe saw fewer cobbled forest roads, but more ascents of the VAMberg. On a windy morning, the riders rolled out from Beilen to take on the 158 km route.

 In the early parts of the race no breakaway formed, but the terrain coupled with the wind very quickly saw the peloton breaking up and riders being dropped out the back. On the second ascent of the Vamberg there were three distinctive groups on the road, but things came back together on the other side. 

Around the 100 kilometre to go mark Valerie Demey (VolkerWessels Women’s Pro Cycling Team) made a solo move, quickly establishing a lead of one minute over the bunch. The next time up the VAMberg the peloton almost caught her, before easing up and letting the gap re-extend out to a minute and a half. Demey continued to extend her lead, while behind the peloton speed varied, with a significant split forming. A crash in the bunch resulted in further splits, but by the next time up the VAMberg things seemed to be reorganised in the chase.

At 50 kilometres to go Demey held around two and a half minutes, but an increased pace through the tightest part of the course saw the peloton pull her back to within a minute just seven kilometres later. This time, SD Worx and dsm-firmenich Post NL worked together to make the splits stick, but the tail of the peloton was just long enough for many riders to regain contact. The pace, however, was high enough to finally sweep up Demey.

The race hit the VAMberg again with 31 kilometres remaining. This time, a select group formed at the front of the race, including Pfieffer Georgi and Charlotte Kool (dsm-firmenich Post NL), Lorena Wiebes and Christine Majerus (SD Worx Protime), Elisa Balsamo (Lidl Trek), Alice Towers (Canyon//Sram Racing), Puck Pieterse and Christina Schweinberger (Fenix-Deceuninck). Letizia Paternoster (Liv AlUla Jayco), Femke Gerritse (SD Worx Protime) and Maris Giulia Confalonieri (Uno-X Mobility) tried to come across, as did Confalonieri’s teammate Anniina Ahtosalo. UAE Team ADQ, who had missed out completely, were forced to chase. The group swelled again at the front, and with the kilometres ticking by, seemed content to simply jostle for position before the final sprint up the first section of VAMberg. 

Dsm-firmenich Post NL were first to station themselves at the front, before SD Worx Protime and Human Powered Health also moved up. The pace picked up significantly, stringing the peloton out completely through the tight corners within the final three kilometres. Pfeiffer Georgi led out onto the VAMberg, but Puck Pieterse came up the outside. Majerus kept Weibes in her wheel, and when it became apparent that dsm-firmenich Post NL might have gone a bit early, Wiebes launched and took the win uncontested.

Full Results

Results powered by FirstCycling.com


More news

Share this post